Wednesday, June 21, 2017

The 12-man team for Basketball Australia’s Emerging Boomers has been announced ahead of the 2017 Summer World Uni Games held in Taipei from August 20-29.

Eight of those players have competed in SEABL including Craig Moller who is representing the Ballarat Miners this season.

Kyle Adnam played for the Kilsyth Cobras while Centre of Excellence products Dejan Vasiljevic, Matt Kenyon, Xavier Cooks, Jack McVeigh, Rhys Vague and Tanner Krebs (who also played for Hobart) round out the representatives.

“We have great balance across all positions as well as in athleticism, size and scoring ability,” said head coach Mark Radford.

Moller currently sits 13th in the league for scoring (19.3 points per game) and fourth for rebounds (11.4) while leading the Miners in total blocks with 13.

Through 68 games and four finals, Adnam averaged 17 points and 3.1 assists per contest during his time in SEABL and was named the Youth Player of the Year two seasons in a row from 2014-15 while also making the 2015 All-SEABL team.

While most of the CoE representatives honed their talents for a year, Vasiljevic was outstanding with an average of 14.6 points while scoring a career-high 29 points against Ballarat in 2015 and Krebs also starred in his time for Hobart, hitting a career-high of 27 points against the North-West Thunder.

Australia have been drawn into Group D for the pool stage of the tournament where they will take on Ukraine, Lithuania, Israel, Russia (2015’s bronze medallists) and Mozambique.

The 2017 Emerging Boomers Schedule for the 2017 World University Games (all times AEST):
August 20:
Australia vs. Ukraine at 2.30pm
August 21: Australia vs. Lithuania at 5.00pm
August 23: Australia vs. Israel at 5.00pm
August 24: Australia vs. Russia at 2.30pm
August 25: Australia vs. Mozambique at 12.00pm
August 27: Quarter-Finals
August 28: Semi-Finals
August 29: Bronze and Gold medal games

The Emerging Boomers will be aiming to replicate their efforts from 2013 when they won the silver medal, a team that featured future Boomers Cameron Bairstow and Ryan Broekhoff who also played SEABL across 2009-10.

Those two will not feature in the FIBA Asia Cup which begins on August 8 but a squad has been announced for the selection camp on the Gold Coast for that tournament.

It will be Australia’s first under the new FIBA rules which has seen the removal of Oceania and will place the Boomers in the Asia region.

SEABL is well represented in that camp too with Youth Players of the Year David Andersen (1998), Brad Newley (2004) and Chris Goulding (2008, 2009) joined by All-SEABL players Mitch Creek (2014) and Daniel Kickert (2002) as well as Todd Blanchfield, Jason Cadee, Cam Gliddon, Matt Hodgson, Mitch McCarron, Nathan Sobey, Clint Steindl and Jesse Wagstaff who have all played SEABL in the past.