Sunday, July 22, 2018

Following the end of the regular season on Saturday night, the 2018 SEABL Awards were held on the rooftop of Emerson’s Hotel in Prahran.

Talented youngster Tom Wilson was awarded the Most Valuable Player in his second year at Melbourne Tigers.

A 3-2-1 voting system is used by referees and coaches throughout the season at the end of each game with the votes tallied at the end of the regular season to find a winner.  Tom received 110 votes and held onto the award despite missing the last game of the regular season due to a tour of China with the Sydney Kings.

Having earned two player of the week’s in round 6 and 7, at the end of the season Wilson finished third in the league for averaged points at 24.9.

Wilson maintained a 43.5% shooting percentage from the field and a total of 67 three-pointers throughout the season.

For the women, Lauren Nicholson earned the MVP award also in her second season with the Launceston Tornadoes.

Finishing as the league leader with an average 25 points per game, Nicholson earned herself 122 votes from the referees and coaches. Nicholson ended the season with a 56.2% shooting percentage and an average of 8.8 rebounds per game.

Nicholson showed consistency all year, with seven team of the week appearances and one player of the week award in round two.

The Coach of the Year was awarded to David Biwer of Nunawading Spectres and Bendigo Lady Braves’ Megan Moody.

A Legend of the game as a former player and current coach, Biwer has been juggling SEABL duties on top of being the Australian head coach for the 2018 FIBA 3×3 Asia Cup.

Moody’s first year coaching has been nothing short of successful with her team’s undefeated run, a feat that hasn’t been achieved since 1992.

Coaches and captains collective votes for athletes under the age of 21 resulted in Tom Wilson’s second consecutive win for Australian Youth Player of the Year.

118 free throws contributed to Wilson’s 473 total match points, showing his repeat win for the award is no less impressive than his first in 2017.

Australian Opal Ezi Magbegor of Diamond Valley Eagles took the Womens Youth Player award.

With her previous national career history, her debut with the Opals at the Commonwealth Games and finishing 5th in the SEABL league at 9.9 for rebounds, Magbegor’s career is looking to continue in a strong manner.

All-SEABL First and Second Teams were named to finish off the awards.

Coaches and captains selected five players for each All-SEABL team from a list of 30 players who received MVP votes in the season.

Per SEABL by-laws, a limit of three restricted players was allowed in each team.

Peter Hooley of Ballarat Miners’ starred again for a second year in the All-SEABL men First team alongside Craig Moller who played for Hobart Chargers this season.

Rounding out the team is Tom Wilson of Melbourne Tigers , Hobart Chargers dynamo point guard Tre Nichols, and Ray Turner from Bendigo Braves.

The All SEABL Second team featured Isaac Turner of Kilsyth Cobras, Bendigo Braves’ Jeremy Kendle, Mason Bragg from NW Tasmania Thunder, Tom Wright of Nunawading Spectres and Daniel Trist from Frankston Blues.

The women’s All-SEABL First team saw Lauren Nicholson from Launceston Tornadoes, Nadeen Payne of Bendigo Braves, Diamond Valley Eagles’ Lauren Scherf’s fourth time, and Kelly Wilson of Bendigo Braves.

Their All-SEABL Second team named Melbourne Tigers’ Bec Cole, Canberra Capitals’ Keely Froling, Emilee Harmon of Albury/Wodonga Lady Bandits, Rachel Jarry of Sandringham Sabres, and Alex Wilson of Launceston Tornadoes.


The full list of 2018 SEABL Award Winners:

MVP: Tom Wilson (Melbourne Tigers) and Lauren Nicholson (Launceston Tornadoes)

Coach of the Year: David Biwer (Nunadawing Spectres) and Megan Moody (Bendigo Braves)

Defensive Player of the Year: Owen Odigie (Kilsyth Cobras) and Louella Tomlinson (Melbourne Tigers)

Australian Youth Player of the Year: Tom Wilson (Melbourne Tigers) and Ezi Magbegor (Diamond Valley Eagles)

All-SEABL First Team: Tre Nichols (Hobart Chargers), Peter Hooley (Ballarat Miners), Craig Moller (Hobart Chargers), Tom Wilson (Melbourne Tigers) and Ray Turner (Bendigo Braves)

Lauren Nicholson (Launceston Tornadoes), Nadeen Payne (Bendigo Braves), Lauren Scherf (Diamond Valley Eagles), Marena Whittle (Nunawading Spectres and Kelly Wilson (Bendigo Braves).

All-SEABL Second Team: Isaac Turner (Kilsyth Cobras), Jeremy Kendle (Bendigo Braves), Mason Bragg (NW Tasmania Thunder), Tom Wright (Nunawading Spectres) and Daniel Trist (Frankston Blues)

Bec Cole (Melbourne Tigers), Keely Froling (Canberra Capitals), Emilee Harmon (Albury/Wodonga Lady Bandits), Rachel Jarry (Sandringham Sabres) and Alex Wilson (Launceston Tornadoes)

Leading Scorers: Tre Nichols (Hobart Chargers) and Lauren Nicholson (Launceston Tornades)

Leading Rebounders: Lauren Scherf (Diamond Valley Eagles) and Craig Moller (Hobart Chargers)

Golden Hands: Lucas Barker (Dandenong Rangers) and Kelly Wilson (Bendigo Braves)

Club of the Year: Nunawading Spectres